Recently a few people have asked me if yeast is vegan. I was stumped, because although I eat products made with yeast, I wasn't sure if it was considered vegan or not. I figured it had to be vegan because yeast is in vegan breads and baked goods, and my favorite nutritional yeast...right? But it is alive, so it didn't seem like an obviously explanation.
The answer in most cases is yes, yeast is vegan and is not considered an animal or an animal product.
Here are some explainations for it's veganism: