Friday, 25 March 2011 02:13

Yes, You Can Buy Vegan Girl Scout Cookies!

Rate this item
(0 votes)

It's that time of year. Little girls in cute uniforms are at every corner, every store front, every office building asking you to help them raise money by buying their famous cookies. Before you break the news to them that you can't help because you're vegan, you should know that there are a few varieties that don't contain dairy or eggs!

Unfortunately samoas and thin mints are not on the list, but check out what is (according to PETA):
I must clarify that the ingredients depend on the bakery where the cookies are made, because it varies by region. If you click on the links above you will see the ingredient list from ABC Smart Cookies. However, many of the other manufacturers included animal products in the above varieties so be sure to check the label.

Another catch: they all contain sugar from an unknown source. Since a lot of sugar is made with bone char, you may want to steer clear of these tempting treats - PETA couldn't get an answer as to whether they use vegan sugar or not. Many of the cookies also contain high fructose corn syrup and artificial coloring, so they are certainly not healthy.

If you want a guaranteed vegan cookie or a healthier alternative, make your own - there are tons of vegan Girl Scout cookie recipes on the web, just do a search. Here are some that are sure to be tasty:
Read 7299 times